CALUMET VILLAGE PLANNING COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES Telephonic Meeting CALUMET VILLAGE TOWN HALL 340 SIXTH STREET CALUMET, MICHIGAN 49913 AUGUST 20, 2020

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Colleen Kobe at 5:05 PM.

Verbal Roll Call was taken.

Present: Commissioners Roxanne King, David Geisler

Absent: Commissioner Chris Green

Vacant: One

Also present: Trustee Lorri Weir, Manager Caleb Katz and 9 members of the public identified

present for varying lengths of time

II. ACCEPTANCE OF AGENDA

Moved by Commissioner Geisler and seconded by Commissioner King to accept the agenda.

Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Chair Kobe, Commissioners King and Geisler Nays - None

Motion carried unanimously (3/0).

III. AGENDA

1. Petitions from the Public

Members of the public were given five minutes to address the Planing Commission. The majority of comments were favor of allowing a marihuana business in the Village. Comments in favor were mixed with some supporing a medical marihuana business while others supported adult use marihuana businesses and some specifically in support of a business to be operated by Jeff McMahon. Comments were made opposing marihuana businesses in the Village and the size of buffer zones for residential properties located in the C1 and C2 Commercial zones

2. Ordinance 153: Adult Use Marihuana Ordinance

For the Planning Commission: Moved by Commissioner Geisler and seconded by Commissioner King to approve draft ordinance 153 and send it to the Village Council for consideration.

Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Chair Kobe, Commissioners Geisler and King Nays - None

Motion carried unanimously (3/0).

For the Ordinance Committee: Moved by Preisdent Geisler and seconded by Trustee Weir to approve the draft of ordinance 153 and send it to the Village Council for consideration.

Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Trustee King, President Geisler and Trustee Weir Nays - None

Motion carried unanimously (3/0).

3. Adjourn

Moved by Commissioner King and seconded by Commissioner Geisler to adjourn the meeting at 6:07 PM.

Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Chair Kobe, Commissioners King and Geisler Nays – None

Motion carried unanimously (3/0).

David Geisler Secretary August 28, 2020